Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Ashley Moody Wants to Stop Rule Allowing Asset Managers to Direct Client Retirement Money to ESG Investments

Florida Attorney General Ashley Moody announced at the end of last week that she is taking action to stop a U.S. Department of Labor rule which would affect the retirement accounts of millions of people.

“The rule allows 401(k) managers to direct clients’ money to Environmental, Social and Governance investments and runs contrary to the laws outlined in the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,” Moody’s office insisted.

“Fund managers have a responsibility to choose investments that most financially benefit the account holder. The Department of Labor’s 2022 Investment Duties Rule undermines this principle and risks the retirement and financial security of millions of Americans to promote political agendas. I’m taking action to protect Floridians’ retirement investments from the Biden administration’s unlawful and financially irresponsible mandate,” said Moody.

The new rule, called “Prudence and Loyalty in Selecting Plan Investments and Exercising Shareholder Rights,” and it took affect on Monday.

“Two-thirds of the U.S. population’s retirement savings accounts would be affected, totaling $12 trillion in assets. Strict laws placed in ERISA are intended to protect retirement savings from unnecessary risk,” Moody’s office noted.

See also  Owner of Home Health Services Agency and Parent of Disabled Child Arrested for Medicaid Fraud

Moody is part of a 25-state coalition of attorneys general filing suit to stop the rule.

The complaint states: “The 2022 Investment Duties Rule makes changes that authorize fiduciaries to consider and promote “nonpecuniary benefits” when making investment decisions…Contrary to Congress’s clear intent, these changes make it easier for fiduciaries to act with mixed motives. They also make it harder for beneficiaries to police such conduct.”

Moody is joined by the attorneys general of the following states in filing the complaint: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming.


  • Florida Daily

    Florida Daily offers news, insights and analysis as we cover the most important issues in the state, from education, to business and politics.

    View all posts
Share this story:
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Ed Dean: Publisher


Ed Dean is a leading radio and news media personality including hosting the #1 statewide radio talk show in Florida. Contact

Related Stories

Attorney General Ashley Moody

Florida Attorney General Ashley Moody announced an arrest made by the state’s Medicaid Fraud Control Unit. Below is an official statement from Moody’s office...

Attorney General Ashley Moody

Every state cabinet office in Florida has made cracking down on fraudulent schemes priority number one. New legislation just signed by Florida Gov. Ron...

Attorney General Ashley Moody

Earlier today in Orlando, Florida Attorney General Ashley Moody issued warned Floridians about a new smishing scam targeting drivers. According to an official release...

Florida Politics

Florida Attorney General Ashley Moody announced a lawsuit against the US Department of Health over funding for gender-altering drugs and surgeries. Below is an...