Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Florida Politics

Democrats Name Leadership Team in the Florida House

The Democrats new leadership team will be in place for the next two years. 

Share Story Via Text or E-Mail

The Democrats in the Florida House officially named their leadership team on Monday for the next two years.

State Reps. Bobby DuBose, D-Fort Lauderdale, and Evan Jenne, D-Hollywood, will serve as co-leaders as their party continues in the minority.

Now in his fourth term and facing term limits in 2022, DuBose represents parts of Broward County. Before his time in the Legislature, he served on the Fort Lauderdale City Commission, rising to the post of vice mayor.

Jenne is also in his fourth term, represents parts of Broward County and is term limited in 2022. He’s been part of the Democrats’ leadership team before including four years as their policy chair and two years as a whip. Jenne was first elected to the Florida House in 2006 and served three terms before not running again in 2012 instead of taking on a fellow House Democrat. In 2014, Jenne returned to the Florida House.

DuBose and Jenne named some of their fellow members of the Democratic caucus to leadership posts on Monday.

State Rep. Kami Brown, D-Ocoee, will be the leader pro tempore. Brown, who represents parts of Orange County, is in her third term.

Now in her second term, state Rep. Fentrice Driskell, D- Tampa, who represents parts of Hillsborough County, will replace Jenne as policy chair.

Now in his fourth term and facing term limits in 2022, state Rep. Joseph Geller, D-Aventura, will be the Democrats’ floor leader in the House. He represents parts of Miami Dade and Broward Counties.

Starting his third term, state Rep. Ramon Alexander, D- Tallahassee, will be the Democrats’ whip. He represents all of Gadsden County and parts of Leon County.


Reach Kevin Derby at



  • Kevin Derby

    Originally from Jacksonville, Kevin Derby is a contributing writer for Florida Daily and covers politics across Florida.

    View all posts
Share Story Via Text or E-Mail
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow Us on Social Media

Ed Dean: Publisher


Ed Dean is a leading radio and news media personality including hosting the #1 statewide radio talk show in Florida. Contact

Article Archives

Related Stories