Donald Trump Issues Disaster Declaration for a Dozen Florida Counties Impacted by Hurricane Dorian

On Monday, the White House approved Florida’s request for a federal disaster declaration for the impact of Hurricane Dorian which impacted parts of the state in late August and early September.

The White House released the following on Monday night:

Today, President Donald J. Trump declared that a major disaster exists in the state of Florida and ordered Federal assistance to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by Hurricane Dorian from August 28 to September 9, 2019.

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by Hurricane Dorian in the counties of Brevard, Duval, Flagler, Indian River, Martin, Nassau, Osceola, Palm Beach, Putnam, Seminole, St. Johns and St. Lucie.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Pete Gaynor, Acting Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Thomas J. McCool as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas.

Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.


Share this story on Facebook or Twitter or Send in a Text Message::