Florida Delegation’s Push to Make National Borinqueneers Day on April 13 Included in NDAA

Members of the Florida congressional delegation helped get a resolution honoring the U.S. Army’s 65th Infantry Regiment better known as the Borinqueneers through the U.S. House.

The 65th Infantry, which mostly consisted of Puerto Ricans, was one of the most decorated units in the Korean War and its members were praised by Gen. Douglas MacArthur for their “brilliant record of heroism in battle.”

Florida Republican U.S. Sens. Marco Rubio and Rick Scott, U.S. Sen. Bob Menendez, D-NJ, U.S. Rep. Stephanie Murphy, D-Fla., and U.S. Rep. Jenniffer González-Colón, R-PR, are behind the proposal designating April 13 as the National Borinqueneers Day. Murphy and González-Colón helped get the resolution included in the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) which cleared the House this week.

“I’m honored to join my colleagues today to honor the brave United States citizens from Puerto Rico that courageously fought for decades to defend our country and designate April 13th as National Borinqueneers Day. History will forever pay tribute to the sacrifices these brave individuals and their families made to defend our freedom,” Scott said when the Senate supported the resolution at the start of the month.

“I am immensely proud of the service and sacrifice of the Borinqueneers, who without ever voting for their Commander in Chief, like servicemembers of the island do now, selflessly fought and at times paid the ultimate sacrifice for our country and the values we hold dear. This is another way to continue expressing our appreciation for these great soldiers and their families,” said González-Colón last week.

“I am thrilled that Rep. González-Colon and I were able to include this provision honoring the brave Borinqueneers in the annual defense bill,” said Murphy. “Designating April 13th as ‘National Borinqueneers Day’ is a fitting tribute to the men of this revered unit, as well as to all men and women from Puerto Rico who have served and sacrificed in the U.S. military, defending democracy even though they do not enjoy it themselves.”

Other supporters of the resolution from the Florida delegation include U.S. Reps. Gus Bilirakis, R-Fla., Mario Diaz-Balart, R-Fla., Alcee Hastings, D-Fla., Bill Posey, R-Fla., Donna Shalala, D-Fla., Darren Soto, D-Fla., Greg Steube, R-Fla., Dan Webster, R-Fla., and Frederica Wilson, D-Fla.


Reach Kevin Derby at kevin.derby@floridadaily.com.


Kevin Derby
Send via Gmail, Yahoo, Outlook, Text