Florida’s Senators Honor Stanley Cup Champs Tampa Bay Lightning on Capitol Hill

With the Tampa Bay Lightning winning the National Hockey League’s (NHL) Stanley Cup this year, the Sunshine State’s two U.S. senators are honoring the team on Capitol Hill.

On Tuesday, U.S. Sen. Marco Rubio, R-Fla., and U.S. Sen. Rick Scott, R-Fla., announced they would introduce a resolution to congratulate the hockey team.

“The Tampa Bay Lightning had an incredible 2020 season, and I am honored to be able to recognize the team, as well as the entire organization, on winning the Stanley Cup,” Rubio said. “I am proud that Tampa, Florida is home to this amazing organization, and it is fitting that this resolution permanently honors their incredible achievement.”

“It is my honor to introduce this resolution recognizing the Tampa Bay Lightning for winning the 2020 Stanley Cup Finals,” Scott said. “After years of hard work, a difficult season away from family and playing without fans in the seats, the Lightning made Floridians proud by bringing the Stanley Cup back to Tampa Bay for the first time since 2004. I join all Floridians in celebrating this victory, and in looking forward to another great season next year. Go Bolts!”

Tampa Bay beat the Dallas Stars in the Stanley Cup finals at the end of last month. This marks the second championship for Tampa Bay which, as Scott noted, also won the Stanley Cup in the 2003-2004 season.


Reach Kevin Derby at kevin.derby@floridadaily.com.

Kevin Derby
Send via Gmail, Yahoo, Outlook, Text