Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Interparliamentary Task Force to Combat Online Antisemitism Wants Social Media Companies to Remove Hate Speech

Last week, the Interparliamentary Task Force to Combat Online Antisemitism, which contains members of the Florida delegation, questioned top global social media officials on their efforts to confront hate, and challenged these platform representatives to increase their efforts to remove hateful content more quickly.

“While online platforms can foster global connections, especially amid this pandemic, they also provoke and magnify antisemitism, racism, misogyny, homophobia, and other forms of bigotry,” said U.S. Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz, D-Fla. “It is our responsibility, on behalf of our constituents, to fight back against these expressions of online discrimination.”

Co-chaired by Wasserman Schultz and Canadian Member of Parliament Anthony Housefather, the Interparliamentary Task Force consists of a multi-partisan group of parliamentarians from around the world, with additional representatives from Canada and the United States, and members from the United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, and Israel.

The group works closely with the European Commission’s Working Group on Combatting Antisemitism, which also participated in the hearings.

Much of the escalation in antisemitism begins online, and top technology leaders discussed how their platforms work to combat it. The hearing had two panels. The first panel consisted of Ambassadors and Special Envoys To Combat Antisemitism, including Deborah Lipstadt of the United States, Irwin Cotler of Canada, Fernando Lotteberg of the OAS and Noa Tishby of Israel. The second panel included representatives of the largest social media platforms: Meta, Twitter, YouTube and TikTok.

See also  Rick Scott, Marco Rubio and Florida Delegation Challenge 'Incorrect Legal Interpretation' Involving Hurricane Risk Reduction Projects

The hearings framed the rise of online antisemitism within the broader global context, and focused on recommendations to decrease antisemitic rhetoric and violence online, and efforts to increase algorithm transparency and potential regulations to deal with both illegal and hate-driven social media.

Launched in September 2020, the Task Force is focused on increasing awareness of and developing responses and solutions to growing online antisemitism. It is comprised of bipartisan legislators and parliamentarians from Israel, the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and the United Kingdom.

U.S. Reps. Ted Deutch, D-Fla., Mario Diaz-Balart, R-Fla., and Chris Smith, R-NJ, are on the task force.


  • Florida Daily

    Florida Daily offers news, insights and analysis as we cover the most important issues in the state, from education, to business and politics.

    View all posts
Share Story Via Text or E-Mail
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow our Facebook Page

Follow us on X, Insta, Linkedin

Related Stories

Most Recent

Below is a statement from the office of Florida’s U.S. Senators, Sen. Marco Rubio and Sen. Rick Scott, regarding the U.S. Army Corps of...

Florida Politics

Florida Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman-Schultz, who represents Florida’s 25th Congressional District, injected herself into a state government issue surrounding a recent outbreak of measles in...

Most Recent

This week, U.S. Sen. Rick Scott, R-Fla., and U.S. Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz, D-Fla., called for President Joe Biden to “continue putting his full...


This week, members of the Florida congressional delegation took “a behind-the-scenes look at the latest in child exploitation investigation protocols and assessed the work...