Jeanette Nuñez Tapped by Ron DeSantis to Lead Florida’s 2020 Census Efforts

With the federal census coming up in March and running through June, on Monday, Gov. Ron DeSantis tapped Lt. Gov. Jeanette Nuñez to lead Florida’s 2020 Census Statewide Complete Count Committee which “will coordinate with the U.S. Census Bureau to ensure Floridians are accurately reflected in the federal count.”

Besides naming Nuñez to chair the committee, DeSantis also named other members of it on Monday.

“The United States Constitution mandates a national census count be conducted every 10 years and Florida will do its part to support the federal government’s efforts,” said DeSantis. “Florida’s Complete Count Committee will coordinate with the U.S. Census Bureau, local governments and stakeholders across Florida to fulfill this important duty. I have appointed Lieutenant Governor Jeanette Nuñez to lead a group of diverse committee members from across the state to help facilitate a complete and accurate count.”

“I would like to thank Governor DeSantis for appointing me to lead Florida’s Complete Count Committee, which will support the U.S. Census Bureau’s work to facilitate an accurate population count in Florida,” said Nuñez. “The U.S. Census provides critical information to ensure our citizens are being well-served. As the third most populous state in the nation, with an incredibly diverse population, I look forward to working with leaders and stakeholders across the Sunshine State to ensure the voices of our residents are heard during this important process.”

DeSantis made the following appointments to Florida’s 2020 Census Statewide Complete Count Committee:


Jeanette Nuñez, Lieutenant Governor of Florida

Committee Members

Charlotte Brand Audie, Florida Outdoor Advertising Association

Esteban Bovo, Commissioner, Miami-Dade County

Danny Burgess, Executive Director, Florida Department of Veterans’ Affairs

Ginger Delegal, Florida Association of Counties

Erik Dellenback, Faith and Community Based Liaison to the Governor

Maj. Gen. James Eifert, Adjutant General of Florida

Marsha Ellison, Chair, Florida State Conference of NAACP, Chair of Florida’s Civic Engagement Committee

Fmr. Florida House Speaker Tom Feeney, Associated Industries of Florida

Glen Gilzean, Urban League of Florida

Bill Herrle, National Federation of Independent Business

Jeff Johnson, AARP Florida

Brian Lamb, Board of Governors, State University System

Arturo Lopez, Coalition of Florida Farm Workers

Andrea Messina, Florida School Board Association

Jared Moskowitz, Director, Florida Division of Emergency Management

Rick Owen, United Way

Marina Pavlov, Florida Association of Nonprofit Organizations

Paola Pierre, Haitian American Chamber of Commerce

Maria Pinzon, Hispanic Services Council

Leeanne Sacino, Florida Coalition to End Homelessness

Rajat Sharma, President of the Asian American Federation of Florida

Michael Sittig, Florida League of Cities

Brad Swanson, Florida Internet and Television Association

Mark Wilson, Florida Chamber of Commerce


Reach Kevin Derby at


Kevin Derby
Send via Gmail, Yahoo, Outlook, Text