U.S. Sen. Marco Rubio, R-Fla., is teaming up with senators on both sides of the aisle in calling on Amb. Christopher Stevens and other Americans killed in the Benghazi attacks in Libya back in 2012 to be awarded the Congressional Gold Medal.

On Monday, Rubio paired up with U.S. Sens. Shelley Moore Capito, R-WV, Dianne Feinstein, D-Calif., Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., Ed Markey, D-Mass., Jeff Merkley, D-Oreg., Elizabeth Warren, D-Mass., and Ron Wyden, D-Oreg., bringing out a proposal to posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal to Stevens, Glen Doherty, Tyrone Woods and Sean Smith who were killed in the attack on the American consulate in Benghazi.

“We must never forget the courageous American heroes who fought to serve and protect our nation while terrorists attacked our facilities in Benghazi,” Rubio said. “I am honored to join my colleagues in reintroducing this bipartisan legislation to honor their sacrifices with the Congressional Gold Medal and ensure we never forget the champions who lost their lives in service to our country.”

“Glen Doherty, Tyrone Woods, Sean Smith and Ambassador Stevens’ commitment to country and distinguished service made them American heroes and examples of excellence that will endure forever,” Markey said. “I am proud to introduce bipartisan legislation to honor their courage with the Congressional Gold Medal. These brave souls made the ultimate sacrifice, and we should honor their memories will this distinction.”

“Awarding the Congressional Gold Medal to the heroes who were killed at the U.S. consulate in Benghazi is a long overdue recognition for these brave Americans,” Isakson said. “Recognizing their sacrifice for our country is not only the right thing to do, but also sends an important message of support to their families, as well as to our service members, members of our diplomatic corps and all those representing the United States in posts around the world.”

“Honoring the four brave Americans who served and died for our country during the September 2012 terrorist attack in Benghazi, Libya is too long overdue,” Warren said. “Ambassador Christopher Stevens, Glen Doherty, Tyrone Woods, and Sean Smith made heroic sacrifices, and it is appropriate that this bipartisan bill recognizes them with the Congressional Gold Medal.”

“The sacrifice and memory of the brave Americans killed in the Libyan Consulate impact our hearts to this day, and they deserve to be honored with the Congressional Gold Medal,” Capito said. “I’m proud to join my colleagues on both sides of the aisle to honor Ambassador Christopher Stevens, Glen A. Doherty, Tyrone Woods, and Sean Smith.”


Reach Kevin Derby at kevin.derby@floridadaily.com.

Kevin Derby
Send via Gmail, Yahoo, Outlook, Text


Please Enter Your Comment
Please Enter Your Name Here