Palatka’s Terrill Hill Elected President of the Florida League of Mayors

The Florida League of Mayors announced on Friday that Palatka Mayor Terrill Hill was elected president of the association.

Hill was officially installed during the association’s virtual business meeting this week. He is replacing outgoing president Sanibel Mayor Kevin Ruane and will serve a one-year term.

“Society is experiencing significant changes right now, and mayors are leading their communities through it,” said Hill. “We’re the faces and the voices of our communities, and our leadership will be instrumental in bringing our communities together in order to move ahead. Florida’s mayors have long benefited from working together on issues of importance, and I’m grateful to lead this association and its members as we continue doing exactly that.”

Hill is serving his fourth term on the Florida League of Mayors Board of Directors. He was first elected to the Palatka City Council in 2014 and has served as the city’s mayor since 2015. When not serving in his official role as mayor, Hill is a practicing attorney at his own law firm, Terrill L. Hill, P.A. He is also an active member in several associations, including the National Bar Association; serves on the board of directors for numerous associations, including St. Johns Habitat for Humanity, Putnam Academy of Arts and Sciences Charter School, Putnam County Affordable Housing Coalition, Putnam Pop Warner Association and the NAACP; is involved in several local organizations and coaches football and baseball for local high school teams. Hill was also inducted into the Putnam County Black History Hall of Fame and was recognized by the National Bar Association as one of the top 40 lawyers under 40.

“Our mayors are facing unprecedented challenges these days,” said Florida League of Mayors Executive Director Scott Dudley. “Fortunately, President Hill is ready to provide the leadership necessary to navigate these challenges. He’s definitely ready to lead this organization and its members into the next year as they continue to work together, share ideas and advocate for Home Rule. I’m looking forward to not only working with him in his new role as president, but also to seeing him excel at leading this great group of mayors.”

The association also elected Boca Raton Mayor Scott Singer president-elect and appointed members to the board of directors.

The following mayors were reappointed to the board of directors:

District 5 – Mayor Drinda Merritt, Town of Inglis
District 6 – Mayor Pat Kelley, City of Minneola
District 7 – Mayor Robert Apgar, City of DeLand
District 9 – Mayor Camille Hernandez, City of Dade City
District 10 – Mayor Leslie Waters, City of Seminole
District 11 – Mayor William Capote, City of Palm Bay
District 14 – Mayor Karen Ostrand, Town of Ocean Breeze
District 15 – Mayor Steve Wilson, City of Belle Glade
District 16 – Mayor Frank Ortis, City of Pembroke Pines
District 17 – Mayor Claudia Cubillos, Village of El Portal

The following mayors were newly appointed to the board of directors:

District 1     Mayor JB Whitten, City of Crestview
District 2 – Mayor Brenda La Paz, City of Carrabelle
District 9 – Mayor H.B. “Rob” Robinson, City of Davenport
District 13 – Mayor Bill Ribble, Village of Estero
District 16 – Mayor Ana Ziade, City of North Lauderdale

The following mayors were reappointed to at-large seats on the board of directors:

Mayor Jose Alvarez, City of Kissimmee
Mayor Dale McDonald, City of Maitland
Mayor Bryan Nelson, City of Apopka
Mayor Morris West, City of Haines City
Mayor Dan Gelber, City of Miami Beach


Send via Gmail, Yahoo, Outlook, Text