Ron DeSantis Names Transition Advisory Committee on Education and Workforce Development

On Thursday, incoming Gov. Ron DeSantis and incoming Lt. Gov. Jeanette Nuñez announced the names of more than 40 advisors who will serve on the Transition Advisory Committee on Education and Workforce Development that will be co-chaired by State Board of Education Chair Marva Johnson and University of Florida Board of Trustees member Mori Hosseni.

“The committee is comprised of a diverse group of education experts, including traditional K-12 public school system leaders, education advocates, elected school board members, academics and current and former leaders of Florida’s higher education system,” the DeSantis team noted. “These individuals will advise the Transition Team as they develop a plan to implement Governor-elect DeSantis’ vision of ensuring that every student in Florida has the chance to get a world-class education and develop the skills they need to get a great job and pursue their dream.”

Members of the Transition Advisory Committee on Education and Workforce Development include:

Dr. ELIZABETH M. BÉJAR; Vice President for Academic Affairs, Florida International University

Dr. DESMOND BLACKBURN; CEO, New Teacher Center

EMILY BOUCK; Policy & Advocacy Director, Higher Learning Advocates

The Honorable BOB CORTES; Former Representative, Florida House of Representatives

BRENDA DICKINSON; President, Home Education Foundation

The Honorable ERIKA DONALDS; Former Board Member, Collier County School Board

AUBREY EDGE; President & CEO, First Coast Energy

WILLARD FAIR; President & CEO, Urban League of Greater Miami

Dr. ANGELA GARCIA FALCONETTI; President, Polk State College

Dr. ALVIN S. FELZENBERG; Presidential Historian & Lecturer, Annenberg School for Communication, University of Pennsylvania

BRUCE FERGUSON; President & CEO, CareerSource Northeast Florida

KEITH FLAUGH; Managing Director, Florida Citizens Alliance

The Honorable DON GAETZ; Former President, Florida Senate

ROBERT HAAG; President & CEO, Florida Consortium of Public Charter Schools


GREG HAILE; President, Broward College

BILL HEAVENER; Chairman, University of Florida Board of Trustees

WARREN HUDSON; President, Lake Highland Preparatory School

RUSSELL HUGHES; Superintendent, Walton County School District

Dr. ALLAN I. JACOB; Chairman & Chief Medical Officer, Physicians Dialysis

MIMI JANKOVITS; Executive Director, Teach Florida

JOHN KIRTLEY; Founder and Chairman, Step Up for Students

EUGENE LAMB; Board of Trustees, Tallahassee Community College

CRAIG MATEER; Founder & CEO, Bags, Inc.

Dr. KIM MCDOUGAL; Former Chief of Staff, Governor Rick Scott and Education Policy Expert

Dr. EDWARD MEADOWS; President, Pensacola State College

CONNIE MILITO; Chief Government Relations Officer, Hillsborough County Public Schools

KELI MONDELLO; Co-Founder & Board Chairman, LiFT Academy

STEVE MOORE; President, The Vestcor Companies, Inc.

Dr. ED MOORE; President, Independent Colleges and Universities of Florida

The Honorable LUBBY NAVARRO; School Board Member, Miami-Dade County

LYNN NORMAN-TECK; Executive Director, Florida Charter School Alliance

Dr. MADELINE PUMARIEGA; Former Chancellor, Florida College System

RANDLE RICHARDSON; CEO, Accelerated Learning Solutions

LYN STANFIELD; Strategic Relations Manager, Apple

Rev. RICK STEVENS; Managing Director, Florida Citizens Alliance

The Honorable JOHN THRASHER; President, Florida State University

ANDY TUCK; Vice Chairman, Florida State Board of Education

FERNANDO ZULUETA; President, Academica Corporation


Share this story on Facebook or Twitter or Send in a Text Message::