This week, U.S. Rep. Vern Buchanan, R-Fla.. announced that eight teachers in the 16th Congressional District were chosen for the Congressional Teacher Awards.

The Congressional Teacher Awards, established by Buchanan in 2014, are given out annually to exceptional Suncoast teachers for their outstanding achievements on behalf of students.

“While they may not always receive the appreciation or recognition they deserve, teachers have one of the most important and difficult professions of all,” Buchanan said on Tuesday. “That is why I established the Congressional Teacher Awards — to honor educators for the crucial role they play in our community and inspiring our younger generations.”

This year’s award recipients include:

Manatee County:

Linda Bolno for her accomplishments as a Kindergarten and 1st Grade Teacher at Rowlett Academy in Bradenton

Jessica Brumby for her accomplishments as a 4th Grade Teacher at Ballard Elementary School in Bradenton

Jennifer Holt for her accomplishments as an 8th Grade Science Teacher at SCF Collegiate School in Bradenton

Thomas Desmond for his accomplishments as a Music and Choral Teacher for Grades 9 through 12 at Braden River High School in Bradenton

Sarasota County:

Bryan Burns for his accomplishments as a 7th and 8th Grade Teacher at Sarasota Military Academy Prep in Sarasota

Kristen Costa for her accomplishments as a Behavior Specialist for Pre-K through 5th Grade at Fruitville Elementary School in Sarasota

Robert Perkins for his accomplishments as a Math Teacher for Grades 9 through 12 at Sarasota High School in Sarasota

Hillsborough County:

Sandra Misciasci for her accomplishments as a 9th Grade Reading Teacher at Newsome High School in Lithia

“On behalf of all of my constituents in the 16th Congressional District, I congratulate each of these outstanding teachers and offer my sincere appreciation for their service and dedication,” said Buchanan.

Teachers who teach and live in Florida’s 16th District were nominated for the award by their principals. An independent panel of judges from Sarasota, Manatee and Hillsborough counties chose the recipients of the Congressional Teacher Awards.

The eight winners were given a certificate and recognized by the congressman in the Congressional Record for their achievements.


Florida Daily
Send via Gmail, Yahoo, Outlook, Text


Please Enter Your Comment
Please Enter Your Name Here