With the Legislature getting ready to meet in March for the regular session as new Gov. Ron DeSantis readies to push his agenda, the leadership team in the Florida House expanded on Monday.

Florida House Majority Leader Dan Eagle, R-Cape Coral, and his Majority Whip Michael Grant, R-Port Charlotte, announced that they tapped four House Republicans to serve as deputy whips over the next two years.

Rep. Colleen Burton, R-Lakeland, will stay at her post as chief deputy whip in the House. First elected to the House in 2014, Burton represents part of Polk County.

The new members of the Republican leadership are state Reps. Stan McClain of Ocala, Bobby Payne of Palatka and Mel Bonder of Destin.

McClain was first elected to the Florida House in 2016. He represents parts of Marion County. Payne was also first elected that year to represent parts of Bradford, Putnam and Union Counties and part of Clay County. Ponder is also starting his second term. He represents parts of Okaloosa County.

Eagle applauded Grant for his picks and said they will do well in getting the GOP caucus to advance legislation under House Speaker Jose Oliva, R-Miami Lakes.

“I commend Representative Grant’s choices, and I look forward to their assistance in passing bold conservative bills under the leadership of Speaker Oliva,” Eagle said on Monday.

“Each of these members bring knowledge and relationships that will be invaluable in ensuring we continue our legislative success in the House. Leader Eagle and I are happy to have them join the team,” said Grant.


Florida Daily
Send via Gmail, Yahoo, Outlook, Text


Please Enter Your Comment
Please Enter Your Name Here