This week, the Jacksonville 2020 Host Committee announced the 32 members who will lead the efforts to host the Republican National Convention (RNC) at the end of August.

Jacksonville Mayor Lenny Curry and Brian Ballard, the president of Ballard Partners, co-chair the effort and they announced the committee members on Thursday.

“Community and business leaders from here in Jacksonville and across the Sunshine State are sharing their time, talent and experience to ensure Jacksonville is able to host a successful convention for our visitors on this expedited timeframe,” said Curry. “We are thrilled to host the Republican National Convention this August and look forward to sharing with the rest of the country the things that make Jacksonville, and our people, so special.”

“Florida has long been an international destination for visitors from around the world and played host to premier events and conventions including Super Bowls and the 2012 Republican National Convention,” said Ballard. “Florida’s First Coast is no stranger to welcoming an international spotlight and I am honored to be part of this team.”

The members are as follows.

Jacksonville 2020 Host Committee Co-Chairs

Lenny Curry
Jacksonville Mayor

Brian Ballard
President, Ballard Partners

Jacksonville 2020 Host Committee Members

John Rutherford
Member of the United States House of Representatives

Michael Waltz
Member of the United States House of Representatives

Bill Galvano
President of the Florida Senate

Jose Oliva
Speaker of the Florida House of Representatives

Wilton Simpson
Florida Senate President Designate

Chris Sprowls
Florida House of Representatives Speaker Designate

Rob Bradley
Florida Senate Appropriations Chair

Travis Cummings
Florida House of Representatives Appropriations Chair

Fernando Acosta-Rua
President & Chief Executive Officer of Pet Paradise

Andy Allen
Founder of Corner Lot Properties

Max Alvarez
Founder of Sunshine Gasoline Distributors

John Baker
Chairman and CEO of FRP Holdings, Inc.

Pam Bondi
Former Florida Attorney General and Chair of Ballard Partners Corporate Regulatory Compliance

Ed Burr
President and CEO of GreenPointe Holdings, LLC

Robert Coker
Senior Vice President, Public Affairs, of U.S. Sugar

Michael Corrigan
President and CEO of Visit Jacksonville

J. David & Jodi Coxwell
President of J.B. Coxwell Contracting

Daniel Davis
President and CEO of JAX Chamber

Carol Dover
President and CEO of the Florida Restaurant and Lodging Association

Nat Ford
Chief Executive Officer of the Jacksonville Transportation Authority

Josh Garrison
President of Miranda Contracting

Leon L. Haley Jr., M.D.
Vice President for Health Affairs, University of Florida; Dean, College of Medicine – Jacksonville; CEO, UF Health Jacksonville

Bishop Vaughn McLaughin
Founder and Senior Pastor of the Potter’s House International Ministries

Rick Morales
President of Morales Construction Co.

Tom Petway
Jacksonville Business and Civic Leader

Ty Petway
Chief Executive Officer of US Assure

John Rood
Founder of The Vestcor Companies

Kent Stermon
Chief Operating Officer of Total Military Management

Aundra Wallace
President of JAXUSA Partnership



Florida Daily
Send via Gmail, Yahoo, Outlook, Text


Please Enter Your Comment
Please Enter Your Name Here