Lauren Book Names Democratic Leadership in Florida Senate

This week, state Senate Minority Leader Lauren Book, D-Davie, named her leadership team for the next two years.

Democrats currently control 12 of the 40 seats in the Florida Senate.

Book turned to Sen. Jason Pizzo, D-Miami, to serve as the leader pro tempore. Sen. Tina Polsky, D-Boca Raton, will be the policy chair. Books named Sen. Tracie Davis, D-Jacksonville, is in charge of fiscal policy. Sen. Lori Berman, D-Boynton Beach, will be the Democrats’ rule chair.

Four Democrats in the state Senate–Shevrin Jones of Miami Gardens, Daryl Rouson of St. Petersburg, Linda Stewart of Orlando and Vic Torres of Kissimmee–will serve as whips.

Book weighed in on her leadership team this week.

“Democrats will face unprecedented challenges this coming legislative session, requiring steadfast leaders to guide us through the obstacles and opportunities we will encounter,” she said. “From his days as a prosecutor and beyond, Pro Tem Pizzo has always been a strong fighter for freedom, justice, and truth; I am confident he will fight tirelessly to protect Floridians against the GOP’s extremist agenda. Senators Jones, Rouson, Torres and Stewart are determined arbitrators who will work to ensure strength in numbers and sound policy for the betterment of everyday Floridians. Senator Polsky’s judicious mind will guide Democratic policy alongside Senator Berman, whose strong counsel will guide our caucus, and Senator Davis’ masterful acumen for fiscal policy. Though these battles will not be easy, Senate Democrats and our leadership team stand ready to fight.”

The daughter of prominent lobbyist Ron Book, Book was elected to the Senate in 2016 and serves as the chairwoman of the Senate Committee on Children, Families, and Elder Affairs and as the vice chairwoman of the Senate Committee on Regulated Industries.

Representing parts of Broward County, Book has been in her party’s leadership since taking her seat in the Senate, including as Democratic leader pro tempore as a whip for her party. She took over as the Democratic leader when then-state Sen. Gary Farmer lost a vote of no confidence in April 2021.

Kevin Derby
Send via Gmail, Yahoo, Outlook, Text