Hernando County Sheriff Al Nienhuis Takes Over as President of Florida Sheriffs Association

This week, the Florida Sheriffs Association (FSA) announced its leadership for the 2022-2023 year.

The newly-elected FSA president is Hernando County Sheriff Al Nienhuis. He began his career through working as a special agent at the Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco, State of Florida from 1989-2001. He rose through the ranks to serve as captain of the Fort Myers District. From 2001-2010, he was the undersheriff for the Pasco Sheriff’s Office. In January 2011, he was appointed sheriff of Hernando County and was then elected sheriff of Hernando County in 2012. He was reelected in 2016 (un-opposed) and again in 2020.

“In Hernando County, we have two simultaneous responsibilities as we interact with our community,” Nienhuis said. “The first is to maintain the safety of the county, which we take seriously. Just as important, however, is our second task of making our citizens feel safe.”

Nienhuis earned an MBA from the University of South Florida in 2011 and is a graduate of the FBI National Academy. He served as vice president of the FSA under Levy County Sheriff Bobby McCallum and held several other leadership positions within the association.

“It is an honor to serve as the president of the Florida Sheriffs Association,” Nienhuis said. “As the third most populous state in the US, Florida is quite diverse, and I take great pride in working with my fellow sheriffs as a team so our residents and visitors are safe and happy.”

Other FSA board appointments are:

Vice President: Sheriff Bill Leeper, Nassau County

Secretary: Sheriff Bill Prummell, Charlotte County

Treasurer: Sheriff Dennis Lemma, Seminole County

Immediate Past President: Sheriff Bobby McCallum, Levy County

Chair: Sheriff Billy Woods, Marion County

Vice-Chair: Sheriff Rick Staly, Flagler County

Share this story on Facebook or Twitter or Send in a Text Message::