Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Public Safety

Additional Florida Counties Eligible for FEMA Public Assistance

Seven Florida counties are now eligible for FEMA Public Assistance for repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by Hurricane Ian.

FEMA announced the counties on Thursday night. The counties are DeSoto, Flagler, Hillsborough, Putnam, Seminole, St. Johns and Volusia.

Two additional counties, Indian River and Monroe, are eligible for debris removal and repair or replacement of disaster-damaged public facilities.

All 67 counties and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida are eligible for emergency protective measures. FEMA has approved 100 percent federal funding for debris removal and emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance for a period of 60 days.

FEMA’s Public Assistance program provides reimbursement to local and state government agencies for the costs of emergency response, debris removal and restoration of disaster damaged public facilities and infrastructure. Houses of worship and other nonprofit organizations may also be eligible for FEMA Public Assistance.


  • Florida Daily

    Florida Daily offers news, insights and analysis as we cover the most important issues in the state, from education, to business and politics.

    View all posts
Share this story:
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Ed Dean: Publisher


Ed Dean is a leading radio and news media personality including hosting the #1 statewide radio talk show in Florida. Contact

Related Stories