Tag: florida house of representatives

Paul Renner Names New Committee Chairs in the Florida House

Last week, new Florida House Speaker Paul Renner, R-Palm Coast, announced the appointment of committee chairmen for the 2022-2023 Session. “The knowledge and experience across this team of committee chairmen will help us deliver a...

Paul Renner Sounds a Conservative Note as He Takes Over as Florida House Speaker

Insisting “all eyes are on Florida, as America’s beacon of freedom and opportunity,” new Florida House Speaker Paul Renner, R-Palm Coast, signaled he will us his new position to push for conservative values. Taking the...

A New Time for Choosing

It is one of those weird occurrences of history that in February, a month when we celebrate Presidents Day, mostly due to the birth dates of Washington and Lincoln, that another great president was also born. Ronald Wilson Reagan was born on February 6, 1911 in Tampico, Illinois, a small town far from any major city. 

Wilton Simpson Makes Appointments to State, Regional and National Boards and Councils

“It is an honor to have many of my fellow Senators, as well as leaders in our communities and state, serve in these important capacities,” said Simpson on Friday. “I have full confidence that they will diligently and effectively represent the Florida Senate and the state of Florida.”

Florida House Passes Bill Increasing Penalties for Passing Stopped School Bus Without Opposition

The proposal “doubles the fines for illegally passing a stopped school bus while students are getting on or off the bus and increases driver’s license suspension penalties.”
francis rooney

Francis Rooney Looks Back at His Efforts in Congress

After announcing over the weekend that he was leaving Congress, U.S. Rep. Francis Rooney, R-Fla., weighed in this week on his two terms on Capitol Hill even as a crowd could be lining up to replace him.

Jeanette Nuñez Picked to Lead Florida Cybersecurity Task Force

Besides Nuñez, DeSantis named Ben Miron, Linda Reid, Dr. Eman el-Sheikh, Jason Raymond, Bernard Kelly, Michael Delgado and Jeffrey Sturman to the Florida Cybersecurity Task Force.